Neat Video community Forum Index
www.neatvideo.com
Neat Video community
support - help - questions and answers - sharing experience and opinions - feedback - suggestions - backup contact
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

GTX 670 - will not use the device

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Bugs, issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MPNeat



Joined: 25 Oct 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:29 am    Post subject: GTX 670 - will not use the device Reply with quote

Looking for NVIDIA CUDA-capable devices...
NVIDIA CUDA initialized successfully.
Checking CUDA GPU #1:
GPU device name is: GeForce GTX 670
GPU error at GeForce GTX 670 (0): Unknown error (999) in getDeviceMemory(.) [4]
Check failed - will not use the device

Looking for AMD OpenCL-capable devices...
OpenCL initialized successfully.
Checking OpenCL GPU #1:
GPU device name is: GeForce GTX 670
This device is not supported
Check failed - will not use the device

just got a 670, its working fine in ae and prem (cs5.5)
Neat video plug doesnt seem to like it.
any ideas?
will it work if I enable opengl rendering upon export? (read in another post)
i'd still like to see it in the neat vid prefs.

thanks!
- MP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2238

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may be related to CUDA driver version. Which version do you run? You can check that in System Preferences.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MPNeat



Joined: 25 Oct 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply,

CUDA Driver Version: 5.0.37
GPU Driver Version: 304.00.05f02
-

MP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MPNeat



Joined: 25 Oct 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

also,

10.8.2 (12C60)
Mac Pro 4.1
3.33 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
24 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC

Thanks,

MP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2238

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. We will prepare a special test version for you and I will send you a link by e-mail (probably tomorrow). Hopefully this will fix it for that GPU and that version of CUDA.

Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MPNeat



Joined: 25 Oct 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So when I had the GTX 670 in I was actually running

CUDA Driver Version 5.0.36

I put my GTX 285 mac in order to do a render and during that time updated to

"" 5.0.37

Today I swapped for the 670 and the Neat vid plug sees it.

I think im getting about 2 frames more than I did with the 285

-

Frame: 1920x1080 progressive, 32 bits per channel, Radius: 1 frame
Running the test data set on up to 8 CPU cores and on up to 1 GPU

CPU only (1 core): 1.38 frames/sec
CPU only (2 cores): 2.76 frames/sec
CPU only (3 cores): 3.79 frames/sec
CPU only (4 cores): 4.22 frames/sec
CPU only (5 cores): 4.18 frames/sec
CPU only (6 cores): 4.15 frames/sec
CPU only (7 cores): 4.17 frames/sec
CPU only (8 cores): 4 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 670): 7.58 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTX 670): 6.33 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 670): 7.63 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 670): 8.33 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 670): 9.01 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 670): 9.09 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 670): 8.93 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 670): 8.77 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 670): 8.7 frames/sec

Best combination: CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 670)

-

im guessing a combination of things are keeping the 670s potential back

maybe nvidia drivers and maybe pci express 2.0 in the mac pro?

either way i'll wait for a mac os or nvidia update though im not sure the 670 is worth the investment as of yet. Improved CAD, Blender, though not by much. maybe next year.

i'll keep it in for a while longer, if you would still like to send anything my way.

Thanks!

- MP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2238

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

> Today I swapped for the 670 and the Neat vid plug sees it.

So the problem was indeed likely to be caused by the CUDA driver and a new driver somehow fixed it. Please keep watching it and if you ever get the same error again, please let us know.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Bugs, issues All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group