Neat Video community Forum Index
www.neatvideo.com
Neat Video community
support - help - questions and answers - sharing experience and opinions - feedback - suggestions - backup contact
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Virtualdub: Neatvideo 2.2 becomes slow on my PC
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Bugs, issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeatOliver



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:12 pm    Post subject: Well... Reply with quote

Ok Vlad but all my hardware is correctly installed.

- The CPU don't move or something like that, he is firmly fixed and installed and pretty clean with the arctic silver thermal compound 3.5g. No dust, nothing.
- The temperature in my room is around 18C.
- My motherboard is around 34C
- My Power supply is a CORSAIR TX650W, my memory is also from CORSAIR.
- My hardware run and pretty fast! And perfectly with other programs like After Effect CS4 and Photoshop CS4.

So I don't know why I have ONLY this kind of problem with your plug-in, Vlad. You see what I mean?... Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You also have the same problem with a regular cpuburn and your collected data clearly show a correlation between cpu temperature and throttling. Our plug-in has no part in those tests and measurements. And still, your computer goes blue screens under heavy load according to your recent post. So, it is painfully clear that the problem in the hardware or in system software that controls that hardware. A properly functioning hardware will not go blue screen because of heavy load of cpuburn.

Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NeatOliver



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well ok, Vlad. I'm gonna check this right now... Ok.
If I find something, I shall say to you the next time. Thank you so much for your support, I appreciate it. Have a nice day, Vlad. Good bye.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noir



Joined: 25 Oct 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with Vlad here, really does look like a cooling problem. Maybe the cooler is not tough enough, maybe thermal paste was wrongfully applied to the processor.

Another take at it: do you overclock? do you underclock or minimise voltage? The symptoms you are seeing are quite common among us overclockers, i saw quite a bit of bluescreens myself till i found the right voltage/ghz relation for mine. And those limits of the cpu only appear when you run programs that use all cores of the cpu at 100%.. something a program really never does. And if it does, it is a testimony to the coder's skill Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeatOliver



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:10 am    Post subject: Hi NOIR, Hi VLAD... Good news everyone!!! Reply with quote

*-*-*-*-* GOOD NEWS ! *-*-*-*-*

Sorry NOIR but I don't overclock my PC or something like that. But thank you for your help. Well, I have a bad and a good news!
The bad news is: You both are wrong. The good news is: I find why, finally! (I knew that my PC worked well, god damn it!) Twisted Evil Laughing

The problem in fact, is that Virtualdub don't use the DUAL CORE Processor with XP 32bits at all!
And Suddenly... Tadaaaaaa! I knew some people had informed me in the past about this kind of problem with some "old" programs!
So I immediately did some researches on the Internet to find a small program or something. And I find it! It's called "SMP Seesaw by Mike Lin".
Here the direct link: http://www.mlin.net/files/SMPSeesaw.msi

With this small program, you can select EVERY program that you want and move it to the CPU 0 or CPU 1 or BOTH!
Like this, every "old" programs and old games (Painkiller...) everything works fine now! No freeze, no problems with the DUAL CORE anymore.
So now, with virtualdub and the NeatVideo plug-in, I have between 4 and 7 FPS with a radius 5 and STABLE!... I'm the best! I'm just kidding Laughing

If some people like me have a AMD 64 DUAL CORE, please install and run this program if you have some trouble with some old applications for XP 32bits!
Exist a Virtualdub 64-bit (AMD64) version. But as the author say:
"You must have the x64 Extended (64-bit) version of Windows to run the 64-bit version of Virtualdub. You cannot run this version on a 32-bit version of Windows even if your CPU is 64-bit capable."

Ok here finally, here the screenshot with this program and Virtualdub:...Hurray! Razz Razz Razz
Anyway, thank you once again Vlad for your support Smile

Video Filters used: NeatVideo ONLY - (basic settings) - Radius 5 / Threshold 0
Video Size: 352x288 / 6 minutes / 29.970 FPS / 10790 Frames --> CPU 0


Last edited by NeatOliver on Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:00 am; edited 7 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And now check the load on the CPU1.

Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NeatOliver



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Video Filters used: NeatVideo ONLY - (basic settings) - Radius 5 / Threshold 0
Video Size: 352x288 / 6 minutes / 29.970 FPS / 10790 Frames --> CPU 1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are shifting VD from CPU 0 to CPU 1. This is not what I asked you to check. Please leave it on CPU 0 and check the load on CPU 1 at that time. Perhaps you will then see the problem: without SMP Seesaw, VD and NV use both cores, with SMP Seesaw they use only one. It is better than running with throttling but about twice worse than using two cores at full power.

Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NeatOliver



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:15 am    Post subject: Ok, Vlad... Reply with quote

Ok, Vlad. Here the screenshot Surprised
Video Filters used: NeatVideo ONLY - (basic settings) - Radius 5 / Threshold 0
Video Size: 352x288 / 6 minutes / 29.970 FPS / 10790 Frames --> CPU 0 (Monitoring on CPU 1)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. The problem should be clear now, just as described above.

Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NeatOliver



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:38 am    Post subject: Absolutely, Vlad. Reply with quote

Yes, absolutely Vlad. And if some people have the same problem as me, you can recommend them to make the same thing as me, I think.
Or develop another version of NeatVideo for DUAL CORE processor, perhaps? (I'm just kidding) Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems you haven't clearly understood my comments above.

Earlier today, your computer overheated so CPU throttled to reduce generated heat and that made the actual FPS of VD/NV rendering lower (like 1-2fps). At that time, VD/NV used BOTH cores (CPU ran with throttling).

Then you found, that using cpuburn on both cores could overheat the CPU so much that it bluescreened.

Then you found that if you limit VD/NV to run on ONE core only (using the SMP Seesaw), then it runs without overheating because using ONE core is slower and generates less heat than using BOTH cores. So now you get about 5 fps just because you run VD/NV on ONE core at full speed without throttling. You intentially limited it to run on one core using SMP Seesaw.

Now, if your computer hardware functioned properly and did not overheat because of high load then you could run it on both cores at full speed without throttling and then you would get something like 10 fps. But the hardware is not working properly and on two cores you get either throttling (and 2 fps) or bluescreen.

Do you understand that "the solution" that you have found is not really solving the hardware (overheating) problem? It simply limits (50%) the load on the CPU so that it doesn't overheat from full load. 5 fps is better than 2 fps, but worse than 10 fps. Wink

Time to fix the hardware.

Vlad

P.S. NV is able to use both cores and does exactly that if you don't limit VD to run on one core only. Wink
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos


Last edited by NVTeam on Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:55 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NeatOliver



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:54 am    Post subject: Oops! Reply with quote

Yes... I'm tired that's why, sorry... It's late you kown ZZzZZzzz Sad
Well ok, but do you think programs like Sandra from SiSoft can help me to find the real problem, Vlad? Or do you know better program than this one?


Last edited by NeatOliver on Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The real problem is in hardware, most likely CPU heat sink. I doubt any software can detect that except cpuburn. Wink

Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NeatOliver



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:58 am    Post subject: You're right... Reply with quote

Oh... You're right, Vlad. I forgot this stupid thing! Damn it, it's pretty late now. Time to sleep I think Laughing... Ok Vlad, see you tomorow for the next episode? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Bugs, issues All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group