Neat Video community Forum Index
www.neatvideo.com
Neat Video community
support - help - questions and answers - sharing experience and opinions - feedback - suggestions - backup contact
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Best Video Editor for NV

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Using Neat Video
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Star12



Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:05 pm    Post subject: Best Video Editor for NV Reply with quote

Hi, I edit on Vegas. What editing system is most compatible (best) to use with NV. It seems that Vegas is unable to use all of NV features. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Considering the capabilities that have to be supported by plug-in hosts to enable all filtration features of NV plug-in, I would arrange the currently supported hosts in three groups:
1) good set of required capabilities: Premiere (Pro and Elements), After Effects, Pinnacle Studio
2) some of the required capabilities are not present, but there is a limited workaround provided by the host: VirtualDub
3) some of the required capabilities are not present, the host does not provide any workaround: Sony Vegas (and Liquid+VDub2RTFX used to run NV plug-in for VirtualDub)

Hope this helps,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Star12



Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have AfterEffects. Maybe it would have made more sense to buy NV for AE instead of Vegas. Is there sidegrade pricing or can the Vegas version of NV work with AE?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please make sure you actually encounter those limitations with Vegas and NV for Vegas, otherwise there is no point in shifting to another host.

NV for Vegas will not work in AE, otherwise we would not have to develop separate versions of NV.

Regarding any changes of the license type, please contact sales by e-mail. Before you make a decision about any change, try the Demo plug-in for the prospective host to make sure it works as you expect.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Joran



Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

proDAD has developed a video stabilizer plug-in for several video hosts. Because of some problems with the Vegas plug-in architecture, proDAD had to create a script as part of the plug-in. I do not know if these problems are the same as you are facing when making the NeatVideo plug-in for Sony Vegas. But you could take a look at the script by downloading the trial version of Mercalli from

http://www.prodad.de/gb/mercalli_std_details.html

Alternatively I can mail you the script.

Jøran Toresen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the link. Using such a solution woud involve a very big temporary file (or several such files) and at least two rendering passes over the whole project (more if you apply several such filters to the same clip). Well, this solution looks like a workaround and frankly I don't really like it, because it promises to be quite unreliable, given the number of ways a filter can be used in Vegas (in the whole project, a track, an event, a media file, as well as their combinations and overlaps). Anyway, we will consider this ad-hoc workaround.

Thank you for the suggestion.

Kind regards,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Using Neat Video All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group