Neat Video community Forum Index
www.neatvideo.com
Neat Video community
support - help - questions and answers - sharing experience and opinions - feedback - suggestions - backup contact
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Davinci and Neat Video -> Davinci use GPU instead CPU

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Bugs, issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Martn



Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 11:29 am    Post subject: Davinci and Neat Video -> Davinci use GPU instead CPU Reply with quote

Hello,

i am new here and i have a question to use Neat Video together with davinci.

I now the problem that with low RAM at Graphic Card it is not easy ...

i have MacBookPro i7 - 2,5GHz 4 Real Cores 4 Virtual Cores with 16GB Ram and a NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB

when i start up davinci and apply the neat video to a clip and check at Neat Video 4 Tool via F10 the performance -> i get to know that at startup of davinci the GPU Ram has the Size of 1313 during start up

after i load the Project and for actually use are only 744MB left of the GPU Ram

i do the test of Neat Video 4 and it tells me i should dicide for 7-8 CPU without GPU for a render performence of 5FPS

But when i start the rendering at the end of the davinci chain ... i just get 2fps or 1,5fps ... and after the render are only 234MB left oft the GPU Ram

My question is Davinci using still this super low RAM even when i tell him by choice that i dont wanna use GPU at all ????

Thanks

Greetings
New User
Martn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Resolve always uses the GPU.

Neat Video uses the GPU only if you allow that in Neat Video Preferences.

I recommend to set Neat Video to use the CPU only and let Resolve have all resources of the GPU for its own needs.

The speed of Resolve render is bound to be slower than the speed of Neat Video alone, because Resolve render includes more than just Neat Video. Neat Video is just one component of Resolve render process, other components take time too, so the overall speed is lower.

Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Martn



Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello NVTeam

I setup neat Video only for CPU ... and the performance test tells me if i go for CPU i will get 5-7fps but when i execute the process then i only get 1,2 -2 fps ... so i think the effect of forcing neatvideo to just CPU is not working at the moment ... but maybe i am wrong ... it just feel and looks like ... ???

greetings Martn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please note that the Optimize test measures the speed of Neat Video alone, while what you observe in Resolve render process is more than Neat Video alone. Resolve's own processing also takes time and slows down the overall speed. So that is not abnormal.

Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Bugs, issues All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group