Neat Video community Forum Index
www.neatvideo.com
Neat Video community
support - help - questions and answers - sharing experience and opinions - feedback - suggestions - backup contact
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Temporal Filter bug in Davinci Resolve

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Bugs, issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
misha



Joined: 16 Sep 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 9:41 pm    Post subject: Temporal Filter bug in Davinci Resolve Reply with quote

I'm using NV3 and upgraded to NV4 for Davinci Resolve.
NV3 has perfect accuracy of temporal filter (especially with radius=5)
NV4 does blurry spots, lost details and result look far worse than preview.

Sorry for big picture.


My Cuda 5.2 videocard is not supported in NV3 and nextgen version works inaccuracy.
Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2238

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Make sure you build the noise profile correctly, that is most important.

2. Check preview inside Resolve's window, not in Neat Video, because Resolve does not provide all input frames required to prepare accurate preview (specifically, the temporal filter cannot work without those missing input frames). In Resolve preview, the filter is able to receive all input frames and prepare correctly processed preview.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
misha



Joined: 16 Sep 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NVTeam wrote:
1. Make sure you build the noise profile correctly, that is most important.

2. Check preview inside Resolve's window, not in Neat Video, because Resolve does not provide all input frames required to prepare accurate preview (specifically, the temporal filter cannot work without those missing input frames). In Resolve preview, the filter is able to receive all input frames and prepare correctly processed preview.

Thank you,
Vlad


Noise profile is correct. I'm using NV for years and purchased 3 copies.

NV3 temporal filter works perfect without losing details but CUDA 5.2 unsupported.
NV4 is unacceptable because of that blurry areas with losing details.

In another topic you say you plan to include CUDA 5.2 support in the next regular update for NV3. Is it cancelled?
https://www.neatvideo.com/nvforum/viewtopic.php?t=1100

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2238

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please prepare a reproducible test case - a small project showing both NV3 and NV4 on a short test clip. We will run it on our machines and check what exactly is causing the problem. It most likely can be avoided or fixed.
Please send that test case to support [at] neatvideo.com

If you want to try v3 with 5.2 support please also send a request to support [at] neatvideo.com

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
misha



Joined: 16 Sep 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NVTeam wrote:
Please prepare a reproducible test case - a small project showing both NV3 and NV4 on a short test clip. We will run it on our machines and check what exactly is causing the problem. It most likely can be avoided or fixed.
Please send that test case to support [at] neatvideo.com

If you want to try v3 with 5.2 support please also send a request to support [at] neatvideo.com

Thank you,
Vlad


thanks!
downloaded new version of NV3. It works!

I'll prepare for you test on next week.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jpsdr



Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm interested to see the results of this investigation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
misha



Joined: 16 Sep 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for delay. I will do it soon. Too much work (almost done).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
misha



Joined: 16 Sep 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm here!

XAVC from A7S
Davinci Resolve 11.3
https://yadi.sk/d/lSdk0di5iQ4Wq

No effect


NV4 no temporal


NV4 temporal=5


NV3 temporal=5 (same noise mask)


NV3 is cleaner and details much better

I can do more samples if you need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2238

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the test case.

To compare results like this they have to be prepared based on the same noise profiles and with the same filter settings. We will download the files and check if these conditions are satisfied in the test project.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2238

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have opened the test project and found that:
- there supposed to be two clips in the timeline but only one clip is actually present for testing;

- there are no effects added to these clips, so there are no any instances of NV4 or NV3;

- so there is no way for us to directly see/reproduce the results you posted yet NV4 or NV3 are not in the test project yet.


Could you please add instance(s) of NV to the clip or clips and then configure them the way you did to get the screenshots you posted?

Then we would be able to directly reproduce your results on our machines. Without that, we do not know what kind of noise profiles you built, what filter settings you used, etc.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Bugs, issues All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group