Neat Video community Forum Index
www.neatvideo.com
Neat Video community
support - help - questions and answers - sharing experience and opinions - feedback - suggestions - backup contact
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

GPU Usage on High radius (4-5)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Using Neat Video
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NivisTigridis



Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 6:57 pm    Post subject: GPU Usage on High radius (4-5) Reply with quote

Hi,

I use V3.5 version.

Is there a reason why that the GPU is only use at max 20% (using 1 or the 2 GPU) and using the Optimised settings?

I have this computer setup:

I7-2600K (OC at 4.6 Ghz).
GTX 760
GTX 570

Best regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2238

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please download version 3.6, update the video driver to the most recent version, run Optimize again, note the GPU optimization level during Optimize and also post the results (the whole log) of Optimize here.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NivisTigridis



Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try it and send it back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NivisTigridis



Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

V3.5

Frame: 1280x720 progressive, 32 bits per channel, Radius: 5 frames
Running the test data set on up to 8 CPU cores and on up to 2 GPUs

CPU only (1 core): 2.7 frames/sec
CPU only (2 cores): 5.56 frames/sec
CPU only (3 cores): 7.63 frames/sec
CPU only (4 cores): 9.09 frames/sec
CPU only (5 cores): 8.93 frames/sec
CPU only (6 cores): 8.26 frames/sec
CPU only (7 cores): 7.35 frames/sec
CPU only (8 cores): 6.67 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 570): 7.19 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 760): 6.99 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 11 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 6.06 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 8.7 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 10.5 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 11.1 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 11.6 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 10.8 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 10.3 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 10.1 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 5.65 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 7.75 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 9.17 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 10.4 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 11.2 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 10.8 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 10 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 10.1 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 10.5 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 10.3 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 11.6 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 11.6 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 11.9 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 11.4 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 10.8 frames/sec

Best combination: CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760)

GTX570: GPU LOAD Max 72%
GTX 760 GPU LOAD Max 82%

*****************************************

V3.6

Frame: 1024x640 progressive, Radius: 5 frames
Running the test data set on up to 8 CPU cores and on up to 2 GPUs

CPU only (1 core): 4.03 frames/sec
CPU only (2 cores): 8.13 frames/sec
CPU only (3 cores): 11.2 frames/sec
CPU only (4 cores): 13.2 frames/sec
CPU only (5 cores): 13.9 frames/sec
CPU only (6 cores): 13.7 frames/sec
CPU only (7 cores): 12.8 frames/sec
CPU only (8 cores): 11.8 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 570): 11.6 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 760): 10.5 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 17.9 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 11.6 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 12.5 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 16.4 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 16.1 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 17.2 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 17.9 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 16.4 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 15.2 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 10.3 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 11.4 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 14.3 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 14.3 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 14.9 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 15.6 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 14.9 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 14.7 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 16.9 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 15.2 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 15.6 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 16.4 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 16.9 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 16.7 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 15.4 frames/sec

Best combination: GPU only (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760)

GTX570: GPU LOAD Max 77%
GTX 760 GPU LOAD Max 72%

******************************************

It's seem that I've miss read the data...

BUT IF I use the test kit and render the file, The loads are:

GTX570: GPU LOAD Max 25%
GTX 760 GPU LOAD Max 49%
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2238

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you get those v3.5 results from the Pro plug-in?
Please run the same test in v3.6 Pro plug-in too (to keep the parameters of the test the same).

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NivisTigridis



Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll check that up later, I did it on the fly yesterday and didn't check the settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NivisTigridis



Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:30 am    Post subject: Update #2: Reply with quote

V3.5

Frame: 1280x720 progressive, 32 bits per channel, Radius: 5 frames
Running the test data set on up to 8 CPU cores and on up to 2 GPUs

CPU only (1 core): 2.67 frames/sec
CPU only (2 cores): 4.95 frames/sec
CPU only (3 cores): 6.41 frames/sec
CPU only (4 cores): 6.8 frames/sec
CPU only (5 cores): 7.3 frames/sec
CPU only (6 cores): 6.94 frames/sec
CPU only (7 cores): 6.76 frames/sec
CPU only (8 cores): 6.41 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 570): 5.24 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 760): 5.24 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 7.81 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 6.1 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 6.9 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 7.81 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 7.94 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 8.06 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 8 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 7.46 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 7.25 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 5.81 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 6.37 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 6.94 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 7.25 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 7.58 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 7.52 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 6.9 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 6.71 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 7.46 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 7.52 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 7.87 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 8 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 7.87 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 7.63 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 7.25 frames/sec

Best combination: CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570)

GTX 570: GPU LOAD Max 70%
GTX 760 GPU LOAD Max 79%

V3.6

Frame: 1280x720 progressive, 32 bits per channel, Radius: 5 frames
Running the test data set on up to 8 CPU cores and on up to 2 GPUs

CPU only (1 core): 2.7 frames/sec
CPU only (2 cores): 5.56 frames/sec
CPU only (3 cores): 7.3 frames/sec
CPU only (4 cores): 8.4 frames/sec
CPU only (5 cores): 8.47 frames/sec
CPU only (6 cores): 8 frames/sec
CPU only (7 cores): 7.25 frames/sec
CPU only (8 cores): 6.62 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 570): 6.99 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 760): 6.71 frames/sec
GPU only (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 10.4 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 6.02 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 8.33 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 10.2 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 10.4 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 10.8 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 10.4 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 10.1 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570): 10.1 frames/sec
CPU (1 core) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 5.92 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 7.69 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 8.77 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 10.2 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 10.4 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 10.2 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 10 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 760): 9.52 frames/sec
CPU (2 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 10.2 frames/sec
CPU (3 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 9.8 frames/sec
CPU (4 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 11.1 frames/sec
CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 11.4 frames/sec
CPU (6 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 11.4 frames/sec
CPU (7 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 10.8 frames/sec
CPU (8 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760): 9.8 frames/sec

Best combination: CPU (5 cores) and GPU (GeForce GTX 570, GeForce GTX 760)

GTX 570: GPU LOAD Max 72%
GTX 760 GPU LOAD Max 83%

Here are both in Pro version.

1 issue remain is that those score are good for really small files, soon as your memory is eaten up... For example, in V3.5 my best settings, to be sure I can finish a 10 minutes 1080P sequence at Radius 4-5, are
1 CPU core and GTX570 ONLY.

We are really far from what the optimize is showing.
BTW The average GPU usage for 3 clips of 10 minutes at 1080P is around 40-45% It's all but scientific since I had some down time in there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2238

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the render speed depends so much on the memory utilization, perhaps it is a good idea to add some more RAM to the machine? Or somehow adjust the use of RAM by Premiere (there is a setting in Premiere's Preferences). That may help to keep the render process fast.

Vlad

P.S. Thank you for purchasing a license yesterday.
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NivisTigridis



Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's only when I use Neatvideo plug in OR try to encode hours of HD videos (without neatvideo) that I run into this issue.

I need more ram, that's a fact. I all ready give 90% of my ram to Premiere... hard to do more without hurting the overall machine.

What I want to point out is the Optimize setting not to take in account ram "lacking" situation. Normally I have to lower the settings when I hit around 65% and up of Total ram usage.

I just give those points as a explanation and how do I my situation.

NB: I'm building / saving for new encoding PC, RAM shouldn't be a issue after that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2238

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agian, I recommend to change the Premiere setting to optimize its memory use (there is a setting in Premiere's Preferences), choose Memory instead of Performance. Please try to render then and see if rendering consumes the same amount of RAM.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
NivisTigridis



Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know what setting you're referring to, I'll have to check I think I'm in Memory all ready. I'll let you know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NivisTigridis



Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:59 pm    Post subject: Update 25 November 2014 Reply with quote

Hi,

The setting was all ready set to Memory.

I've upgraded to 16 gig of DDR3 ram and used the plugin on new footage.

All went well with the "optimal" settings.

Therefore it was really a "low" memory issue.

I'll have to try again with the same footage as before to confirm that it's just that but it sure go a lot better.

Best regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Using Neat Video All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group