Neat Video community Forum Index
www.neatvideo.com
Neat Video community
support - help - questions and answers - sharing experience and opinions - feedback - suggestions - backup contact
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

NeatVideo Pro AE - Issue with "Linearize working space&

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Bugs, issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kurenai



Joined: 16 Oct 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:28 pm    Post subject: NeatVideo Pro AE - Issue with "Linearize working space& Reply with quote

Hello,
I just bought NeatVideo Pro AE, and experiencing some issues when working with "Project Settings > Linearize working space" set to on.
First, the video on the NV option dialog becoming really dark.

And second, when I do the RAM preview, the preview image shows a really ugly color banding, like those old 256-colors banding.

Although when I go over frame by frame, everything looks just fine, and when I try to render it out, everything looks ok as well.

Is this just some display issues, i.e. it doesn't affect any of NV's internal algorithm?
If my assumption is correct, then I could do the noise profiling with "Linearize Working Space" set to off (so I can actually see the video noise), then turn the "Linearize" back to on when I'm ready to render, and it should work as expected, right?

Thanks.

PS. Great plugin with affordable price btw, thanks a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not recommend to build a noise profile using one gamma and then render in another (for example, linear). This will inevitably lead to less accurate filtration by NV. Profiling and filtration must done with the same type of data.

If you must use linear working space then it is necessary to both build noise profile and render using the same type of data (linear in both cases). To make the viewer show lighter image you can adjust it using the brightness control under the viewer in NV.

If you can instead use regular (non-linear) working space in AE then I recommend to use that way over the linear one, as in this case everything will work and look as expected in all stages of the workflow including previews. And that is better for filtration results as well.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kurenai



Joined: 16 Oct 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply Vlad.
I don't really like using the brightness control when working with linear, because everything looks washed out that it's hard to judge the resulting quality.
Anyways, upon further exploration, it appears that even AE itself exhibit the similar behavior (darkening of image in the comp viewer) when I turn on linearize, but uncheck the "View > Use Display Color Management".

So I'm thinking the reason NV gives a darkened image preview is because NV took the image before it passed into AE's color management ?
I hope you can do something about this, i.e. make NV honor AE's color management system in future update if it's possible.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The reason it shows a darker image is that it the image viewer is currently designed for regular (not linear) images typically provided by AE. We will probably add special support for linear images in the future updates.

Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
katho3d



Joined: 08 Oct 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Vlad,
We have the same problem here with linear workflow in AE. We are using Neat Video Pro to reduce the noise of our CG footage and it does a really good job.
But since lately we have to work in linear space more often and Im really missing a button in Neat Video to change the gamma. Wink I would really appreciate it, because currently its very hard to get a satisfying result.
Many thanks in advance!
Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please note that brightness adjustment control under the viewer. It is not exactly the same as gamma but it should help to see the details of that darker image, which should allow to build a noise profile at least.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
katho3d



Joined: 08 Oct 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Vlad,

thanks for the fast response! Yes, Ive already tried this, but unfortunately its not enough to make the very dark areas visible.
In most cases Im able to build a noise profile, but Ive noticed a big difference in the quality (especially in this dark areas).
The results are not that bad though and the image quality is definitely enhanced, but Ive seen it can do much better. Wink
Are there any plans for adding such a gamma correction feature?
Thanks!
Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not yet, but we might add it if there are many requests.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
katho3d



Joined: 08 Oct 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately Im not sure if there are many users out there working in linear space. But maybe Im wrong. Wink
Anyways, in my opinion its absolutely essential for a professional plugin like Neat Video to work correctly with color management of AE, without any workarounds and tricks.
So, please guys vote for this if you are working linearized in AE. Wink Many Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jostein



Joined: 21 Mar 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pulling up an old post here but pluss one for this feature Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NVTeam



Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is support for linear data in AE in v4: please see that gamma button in the left bottom corner of the plug-in's window. Please see the user guide to learn more on how to use that feature.

Thank you,
Vlad
_________________
Neat Video team
noise reduction for video and photos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jostein



Joined: 21 Mar 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ooops, sorry!
Great plugin Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Bugs, issues All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group