Neat Video community Forum Index
www.neatvideo.com
Neat Video community
support - help - questions and answers - sharing experience and opinions - feedback - suggestions - backup contact
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How i speed up my encodes while using neat video

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Using Neat Video
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
africanmarty



Joined: 18 Jul 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 10:50 pm    Post subject: How i speed up my encodes while using neat video Reply with quote

As we all know NV can be a real drain when it comes to render times, but i have the firecoder blu hardware encoder card and use that to do my encode and the results are faster (although depending on your CPU - if you have 2 quad core cpus then you might not benefit from this, but since i'm only on a dual core 3.0Ghz its helps me out alot).

i'm doing an encode now so i can give exact figures ( will post tham after the encode ). But what i do is, I do all my editing in CS3 and then frameserve lossless AVI to tmpgenc 4 ( as this is required to use the harware encoding ) and then encode to H.264 HD. i know it might be a pain to use 3rd party software for some but this works for me very well.

I will post difference in render times with (using firecoder blu) and without (just using CPU) encoding later on today.

If others have hardware encoders i suggest you try them Smile

Regards Marty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Lugarimo



Joined: 09 Feb 2009
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont understand what difference a hardware encoder is to encoding normally with a program on your PC. Is it faster? If so how? It use a better CPU? I can have same CPU in my PC, no?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
africanmarty



Joined: 18 Jul 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lugarimo wrote:
I dont understand what difference a hardware encoder is to encoding normally with a program on your PC. Is it faster? If so how? It use a better CPU? I can have same CPU in my PC, no?


It depends on your cpu or cpu's your using. in my case the hardware encoder is much faster than just using my cpu, The hardware encoder uses a quadcore cpu. Plus it saved me from buying a new PC (i'm using the fastest cpu my mother board can handle [AMD dual core 3.0Ghz]).

Here's a read up on the harware encoder i'm using and the software i'm using with it (although the video/audio is frameserved lossless from CS3) :

http://tmpgenc.pegasys-inc.com/en/product/te4xp_spurs.html

Here are the encode times :

50 minute 720x576i DV video clip (NV used on the whole clip) encoded to h.264 720x576p :

just cpu : 9h 50min
hardware encode : 7h 20min

so its roughly about 75% speed increase Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Lugarimo



Joined: 09 Feb 2009
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Encoding 50 minutes of that resolution takes less than 7 hours on my PC and I'm using an old one. Hardware encoding is too complicated for a newb and requires so many annoying steps. It's really not worth saving just 1 hour. Most people have dual or quad core computers now so NV isn't as horribly slow as it once was. Depends what you mean by slow anyway, to me anything 10 fps up is ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheTooleMan



Joined: 02 Aug 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

africanmarty wrote:

Here are the encode times :

50 minute 720x576i DV video clip (NV used on the whole clip) encoded to h.264 720x576p :

just cpu : 9h 50min
hardware encode : 7h 20min

so its roughly about 75% speed increase Smile

Actually, that's about 25% increase. Still considerable, since you're taking about 2.5 hours off the processing time.

What's the cost of a hardware encoder?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Neat Video community Forum Index -> Using Neat Video All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group